Oliver Smith1 Dr. Oliver Smith, Jr. has been operator of El Paso-based Smith Chiropractic since 1975, a family practice at which he has served alongside both his father and son. He has served as president of multiple state and national organizations, including the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards (FCLB), the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners, the Texas Insurance & Chiropractic Joint Advisory Committee, and the Texas Chiropractic Association (TCA). He was the awarded the Keeler Plaque by the TCA, which recognizes the Texas Chiropractor of the Year, as well as the George Arvidson Award by the FCLB, the Federation’s highest honor for service to the chiropractic profession.
Dr. Smith earned his Doctor of Chiropractic at Texas Chiropractic College and completed his undergraduate studies at the University of Texas–El Paso. He is the Chiropractic Team Physician for University of Texas–El Paso, New Mexico State University, and El Paso Community College. He has been a certified Pro-Sport Chiropractic Physician since 1991, a position in which he has worked with both professional and Olympic athletes. In addition, he is certified in Impairment and Disability Rating through the Texas Chiropractic College.
In addition to his presidential tenures, Dr. Smith has served as vice president, treasurer, secretary, and representative of multiple chiropractic organizations on both state and national levels.